India Capitals, owned by the GMR Group, were crowned champions of Legends League Cricket 2022 with a dominant 104-run win over Bhilwara Kings in the final at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur on Wednesday, October 5.

The Capitals rode on the brilliant individual display of Ross Taylor (82 runs off 41 balls and two catches) to maintain a commanding position throughout the fixture. Apart from Rahul Sharma’s four-wicket haul (4/30), Bhilwara Kings failed to mount a challenge when chasing 212.

Put to bat first by Bhilwara Kings, India Capitals had a rocky start to their first innings as they were reduced to 21/4 within five overs. Spinners Monty Panesar and Rahul Sharma combined forces to take two wickets each within the powerplay phase.

The arrivals of Ross Taylor and Mitchell Johnson sparked a revival of the Capitals’ batting as the pair forged a match-defining 126-run partnership for the fifth wicket.

Taylor reached his fifty in 30 balls in 10.5 overs, while Johnson would hit his half-century off 31 balls in 13.5 overs.

Tim Bresnan would break the Taylor-Johnson partnership in the 15th over, with his slow back-of-a-length delivery pushing Mitchell Johnson (62) to hit straight to Irfan Pathan at extra cover.

Ross Taylor’s innings (82) ended in the 17th over at the hands of Rahul Sharma, handing over the baton to Ashley Nurse. The West Indian played a strong cameo in the death overs with his unbeaten 42 off 19 balls guiding India Capitals to 211/7.

Bhilwara Kings managed to score 48 in the powerplay overs, but lost the wickets of Morne van Wyk (0), William Porterfield (12) and Shane Watson (27) in the process.

Besides Watson, Jesal Karia (22) and a late cameo from Sreesanth (13 not out) were the top run-getters with the bat for the Kings as India Capitals’ splendid bowling attack - led by Pankaj Singh (2/14) and Pravin Tambe (2/19) helped the Capitals claim a 107-run victory.

Ross Taylor was awarded the Legend of the Match for his all-round performance (82 runs off 41 balls and two catches) while Bhilwara Kings’ Yusuf Pathan was adjudged the Player of the Series for registering 228 runs and seven wickets.