SEALED. India Capitals - owned by the GMR Group - have finalised their 19-member squad to defend their Legends League Cricket (LLCT20) title in 2023.

Starting from the top, the influential Gautam Gambhir returns to lead as the captain. The 2007 T20 World Cup and 2011 ODI World Cup winner used his vast experience to make crucial decisions in the team’s ambitious run-in to the coveted LLCT20 trophy.

Gambhir’s effort last season was aided by the key contributions of Ashley Nurse (247 runs and a highest score of 103* (43 balls) vs Gujarat Giants) and Pravin Tambe (11 wickets and best figures of 3/28 vs Gujarat Giants), who have been retained in the team.

So, who has made it into the Class of 2023? Let’s start with Hashim Amla. The South African batting maestro, the first Proteas batter to score a triple Test hundred, joins the defending champions for the second edition of the T20 competition.

Kevin Pietersen, a celebrated English cricketer whose unorthodox ways made him one of the most entertaining sportspersons in the game, and 2011 World Cup winner Munaf Patel join as the marquee signings for India Capitals.

The second season of the franchise edition of Legends League Cricket will have 19 matches and commences from November 18, 2023. The tournament will be played across five venues - Ranchi, Dehradun, Jammu, Vizag and Surat.

The playoffs are slated to be hosted in Surat, with the final of the Legends League Cricket 2023 set for December 9 at the Lalbhai Contractor Stadium.

India Capitals squad

Gautam Gambhir, Pravin Tambe, Ashley Nurse, Hashim Amla, Kevin Pietersen, Fidel Edwards, Munaf Patel, Ricardo Powell, Kirk Edwards, Ben Dunk, Rusty Theron, Dilhara Fernando, Morné Van Wyk, Ishwar Pandey, Gnaneswara Rao, KP Appanna, Bharath Chipli, Hamish Bennett, Isuru Udana