The Dubai Capitals, owned by the GMR Group, are a professional cricket team participating in the International League T20 (ILT20).

The team, which is based in Dubai - a city and emirate in the United Arab Emirates, have appointed Jamaican cricketer Rovman Powell as their first-ever captain.

Powell is a well-known name in the Capitals family, representing Delhi Capitals in the Tata IPL. The West Indies star, with 2,668 runs and 23 wickets in his T20 career, also serves as the vice-captain of the Windies T20I side.

As per the new rules, each team in the ILT20 will have a roster featuring a maximum of 25 players. The change came after Dubai Capitals signed Robin Uthappa.

Uthappa, who retired from all forms of cricket in India in September 2022, can now play in franchise cricket outside the country having obtained a no-objection Certificate (NOC) from Kerala - the last team he played with domestically.

Robin Uthappa will also be joined by former India all-rounder Yusuf Pathan at Dubai Capitals.

The franchise will be aiming to put forth a competitive challenge for the ILT20 trophy with the likes of Sikandar Raza (Zimbabwe), Joe Root (England), Mujeeb Ur Rahman (Afghanistan), Dasun Shanaka (Sri Lanka) and George Munsey (Scotland) within their ranks.

The four homegrown players set to represent the Dubai Capitals in the ILT20 are Chirag Suri, Jash Giyanani, Hazrat Luqkman and Raja Akif.

Phil Simmons, who most recently held charge of the West Indies cricket team, is the head coach of the Dubai Capitals team.

Dubai Capitals will take on Abu Dhabi Knight Riders in the opening match of the International T20 League (ILT20) on January 13.

Here’s a look at the Dubai Capitals roster for International T20 League (ILT20):

Rovman Powell (captain), Dasun Shanaka (vice-captain), Chamika Karunaratne, Hazratullah Zazai, Fabian Allen, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Sikandar Raza, Niroshan Dickwella, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Isuru Udana, Yusuf Pathan, Ravi Bopara, Joe Root, Robin Uthappa, Blessing Muzarabani, Daniel Lawrence, George Munsey, Fred Klaasen, Oliver White, Chirag Suri, Jash Giyanani, Hazrat Luqkman, Raja Akif.