Dubai Capitals, owned by the GMR Group, fell to a seven-wicket defeat against the Sharjah Warriors in match 10 of ILT20 2023 at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium on Saturday, January 21.

Sharjah Warriors won the toss and elected to bowl first, while Dubai Capitals made one change, with Dan Lawrence in for Fabian Allen. The Warriors, meanwhile, brought in Chris Woakes and Muhammad Jawadullah.

After losing two wickets for 15 runs within the first three overs, Dubai Capitals banked on Joe Root’s committed 80-run knock to register 177/4 in their 20 overs.

Root slammed eight boundaries and one six in his unbeaten innings off 54 balls while stitching half-century stands for the third (82) and fourth (74) wickets.

Captain Rovman Powell (44) and Dan Lawrence (34) played important cameos in the batting order. Powell, in particular, slammed five sixes in his knock to carry the team’s momentum forward after Lawrence’s dismissal.

Robin Uthappa and Chirag Suri had a game to forget as they were dismissed cheaply, while Yusuf Pathan capped his late entry with a six off the last ball of the first innings.

Chasing 178 runs, Tom Kohler-Cadmore led from the front with a 47-ball 106 to help Sharjah Warriors win the game in 14.4 overs.

The English batter struck 10 boundaries and six sixes, besides forging match-defining partnerships with Joe Denly (66*, fourth wicket), Dawid Malan (48, second wicket) and Rahmanullah Gurbaz (47, first wicket).

Denly supported Kohler-Cadmore with a 17-ball 29, which was laced with three boundaries and a six and remained unbeaten till the end.

Akif Raja was the most effective bowler for Dubai Capitals, as he grabbed two wickets for 34 in his three overs. Chamika Karunaratne was the only other bowler to grab a wicket as Sharjah Warriors hit a match-winning score of 182/3.