The Dubai Capitals will begin their latest quest for silverware when they take on the MI Emirates in their opening fixture of ILT20 Season 2. In case you didn’t know, our first opponents were the team that ended our stay in the Eliminator of the inaugural edition. 

The Capitals - owned by the GMR Group - will play 10 games in the group stage, where they will face the other five competing teams twice.

The playoffs of ILT20 Season 2 will be held from February 13, with the final set to be played on February 17, 2024.

Dubai Capitals are scheduled to play six games at their home venue, the Dubai International Cricket Stadium.

Australian legend David Warner will lead the team in the ILT20 Season 2 campaign, succeeding West Indian all-rounder Rovman Powell.

The other notable players who will play for the Dubai Capitals franchise are Jason Holder (West Indies), Kane Richardson, Ben Dunk, Jake Fraser-McGurk (Australia), and Roelof van der Merwe (Netherlands), among the rest.

Another exciting aspect of the latest edition of ILT20 is that the competition will now have Super Subs. Similar to the ‘Impact Player’ in the Indian Premier League (IPL), the Super-sub will be selected from a set of seven names that teams will offer in addition to the playing XI immediately after the toss.

Furthermore, the league has also decided to introduce penalties for slow over-rate in its games.

A look at Dubai Capitals’ schedule for ILT20 Season 2:

January 20: Dubai Capitals vs MI Emirates

January 22: Dubai Capitals vs Sharjah Warriors

January 25: Dubai Capitals vs Abu Dhabi Knight Riders

January 27: Gulf Giants vs Dubai Capitals

January 29: Sharjah Warriors vs Dubai Capitals

February 1: Dubai Capitals vs Desert Vipers

February 3: Abu Dhabi Knight Riders vs Dubai Capitals

February 6: Dubai Capitals vs Gulf Giants

February 9: Desert Vipers vs Dubai Capitals

February 10: MI Emirates vs Dubai Capitals