The Dubai Capitals, owned by the GMR Group, are a professional cricket team participating in the International League T20 (ILT20).

The team, based in Dubai - a city and emirate in the United Arab Emirates, have upskilled with the key additions of David Warner, Andrew Tye and Mark Wood.

Warner, a celebrated cricketer with a distinguished resume of experience in franchise cricket across the globe and a grand flair for entertainment on and off the field, arrives with a whopping 11,695 runs in his T20 career. In case you didn’t know, the southpaw was the captain of Delhi Capitals in the recent edition of the Tata IPL.

On the other hand, Wood was in the spotlight after his bowling masterclass in the 2023 Ashes for England. The seasoned pacer is the newest addition to our Capitals family, with 76 T20 wickets under his belt. He will be a force to reckon with the ball alongside fellow new signing Andrew Tye.

Afghanistan hard-hitter Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Sri Lankan duo Sadeera Samarawickrama and Nuwan Thushara, South Africa-born Dutch all-rounder Roelof van der Merwe and energetic English wicket-keeper batter Sam Billings will look to add more firepower and promise to the Capitals’ challenge for the ILT20 trophy.

The franchise, meanwhile, retained the quintet of Dushmantha Chameera, Joe Root, Raja Akif, Rovman Powell and Sikandar Raza during the draft for the upcoming season. Another name who featured last term for us, Dasun Shanaka, is back to the Dubai Capitals as we re-signed the Sri Lankan all-rounder.

The second edition of the International T20 League (ILT20) will run from January 19th to February 18th, 2024.

Here’s a look at the Dubai Capitals roster for the 2024 season.

New signings: Andrew Tye, Dasun Shanaka, David Warner, Mark Wood, Max Holden, Mohammad Mohsin, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Nuwan Thusara, Roelof van der Merwe, Sadeera Samarawickrama and Sam Billings.

Retentions: Dushmantha Chameera, Joe Root, Raja Akif, Rovman Powell and Sikandar Raza.